Hopeful Hopelessness

Hopeful Hopelessness

by Adam Goodwin | 2014 | Last Updated: March 26, 2014

My Blog Signature

On a regular basis, I update the signature at the bottom of each of my blog posts. My current signature, among other things, includes, “[Adam] is a proud shameless idealist.”

Blog Post Title

Now, to the title of the title of this blog post. The title is Hopeful Hopelessness. It is really meant to be simple.

If you look at the world from a pessimistic and superficial outlook, the world is full of hopelessness. The poverty and hunger of billions. The shameful living conditions of billions.  The politically motivated wars.  The religious misunderstandings and misinterpretations.  If I looked at the world this day I would be full of fear.

Luckily, I have traveled to many different areas of the world.  I have seen how people interact, socialize, and go about their day-to-day lives.  It would be easy to fear that in my lifetime, there is no hope for solving many of the most pressing social issues.  However, as the saying goes:

The only thing more powerful than fear is hope.

Hope

This is why I am full of hope.  This is why I can be a shameless idealist.

I believe there is hope that many of the world’s social issues will be high on everyone’s lists within my lifetime.  Less people will need to sleep in dumpsters at night to try and stay warm.  Children will go to school well nourished and able to think clearly and behave closer to who they are (rather than lash out because of hunger, and with no other way to communicate their feeling of starvation).

I think there is no reason poverty, war, hunger, violence, human rights violations, and the mile-long list of issues have to exist in the world.  Really, it is only humans, ourselves, getting in the way of obliterating these issues.  This isn’t to say change is easy.  Especially when just one of these issues involves layers of political, environmental, social, cultural, religious, and ecological factors to consider.

However, we must use our hope that there can be a more ideal for each of the 7 billion individual human beings on our planet to fuel our desire and need to ensure the world is more just, kind, compassionate, empathetic, and supportive.

Your Call To Action

The world is full of hope. It is full of hope. Hopeful.  Remember this, the next time you come across a shameless idealist.

Further Reading

Based on your reading of this blog post, you may also wish to read: ___.

====

These are one person’s thoughts and opinions.  I welcome and strive to get your feedback and own thoughts. Feel free to comment below or connect with me via social media.

Adam Goodwin is a Canadian working in the United Kingdom, and is a proud shameless idealist. His parents currently work in Cairo, Egypt. He has siblings and distant family in Canada and around the rainbow nation’s only home. Follow his year+ overseas on Twitter (@adam13goodwin) and on this blog.

