Universal Emotions

Please note, this is a guest blog post

Emotions

by Sheila Goodwin (guest blogger) | 2014 | Last Updated: March 24, 2014

Editor’s Note

My father was in a Cairo hospital for a few days in mid-February 2014. This is a blog post by my mother based on the visit.

Universal Emotions

Stepping out of the elevator on the ground floor after being cooped up in my husband’s hospital room for 2 days I went from feeling happy and grateful that things were going to be okay and we were on our way back to Rd. 205, to suddenly feeling  a sudden wave of great sadness.  Not making a lot of eye contact with people, as I was told when we first arrived in this country I found myself staring into the eyes of a reception area full of women, men and children. They were crying, sobbing and some even screaming. Wearing suits, black galabayas  and western cloths these beautiful people were obviously mourning the death of someone very dear.  I stood there for a moment as tears ran down my face making my way to the main door, feeling like I needed fresh air as Mitch stepped into the Pharmacy to purchase the medicine that was ordered by his doctor.  Outside was the same with so many people……lots of tears and lots of yelling, arms stretched up to the sky, I imagined that they were probably questioning what had just happened asking someone of ‘greater power’  “WHY, WHY DID YOU HAVE TO DO THIS” . There were four beautiful women and a young girl standing, hugging and crying whom I could not take my eyes of us…..I found myself walking straight towards them as they made eye contact with me, tears streaming down my face. Within seconds I found myself hugging these total strangers, crying with them, trying to give them some words (in English, seeing I don’t know Arabic) that would tell them how ‘sorry I was, for what ever had just happened’.  Within probably only minutes though it felt like forever, Mitch was outside with his medication, his eyes also looked sad as he knew exactly what was going on   with these beautiful people. Crying, but not caring who saw me cry I walked over and flagged down a taxiand we were soon on our way to our HOME away from HOME. I couldn’t help but look back to see one last glance of these beautiful people whom I wondered if they were going to miss their LOVED ONE as much as I MISS MY MOMMA !!!

Gratefulness

While we were in the hospital I found myself starting to feel sorry for myself, for mitch for us that this was happening to us — ending up in the hospital in Egypt with one of us having surgery was definatly not something we imagined we would experience………. Boo poor us !!! BUT after experiencing this moment downstairs with these beautiful people who had just lost a loved one made me feel so grateful and happy that Mitch was okay, we were okay and LIFE WILL GO ON FOR US as it has been and as it will in this CRAZY LIFE CHANGING ADVENTURE we are on !!!!

A Call To Action

There are universal emotions.  An idea to keep in mind the next time reading a story in a newspaper.

Further Reading

Based on your reading of this blog post, may also be interested in reading: Cairo

====

These are one person’s thoughts and opinions.  I welcome and strive to get your feedback and own thoughts. Feel free to comment below or connect with me via social media.

Adam Goodwin is a Canadian working in the United Kingdom, and is a proud shameless idealist. His parents currently work in Cairo, Egypt. He has siblings and distant family in Canada and around the rainbow nation’s only home. Follow his year+ overseas on Twitter (@adam13goodwin) and on this blog.

Please note, this is a guest blog post

