A Rewarding Experience

A Rewarding Experience

by Adam Goodwin | 2013 | Last Updated: December 30, 2013

December 2013

During December 2013 I was on the continent of Africa for three weeks.  Amongst the 88 million citizens of Egypt, over 10% identify as Christian.

My Visit

With the lead up to Christmas, I was able to dress up as Santa Clause and visit young children at their school!  Over 128 children had their picture taken with Santa by the likely 200+ parents/family in attendance.

What I learned

Seeing the smiles on the children’s faces reminded me of what we all strive for: happiness.  Being able to wear the costume and give joy to others reminded me of the importance of serving others.  Celebrating a (perhaps, the) major Christian holiday in a very Islamic and Muslim country reminded me of the need to celebrate humanity’s diversity and friendship.  Having families present to celebrate with their youngsters reminded me of the importance of a strong and vibrant community (at the school) and families, whatever these may look like in different contexts, places, and times.

Picture

Here is a picture of my experience:

1464629_10151922337974132_137834690_n

A Call To Action

The little things in life can have a very large impact.  Change does not need to come from revolutionizing the system or beliefs.  What small change could you implement in your today to make you better today than you were yesterday?

Further Reading

Based on reading this blog post, you may be interested in reading: (click here).

====

These are one person’s thoughts and opinions.  I welcome and strive to get your feedback and own thoughts. Feel free to comment below or connect with me via social media.

Adam Goodwin is a Canadian working in the United Kingdom, and is a proud shameless idealist. His parents currently work in Cairo, Egypt. He has siblings and distant family in Canada and around the rainbow nation’s only home. Follow his year+ overseas on Twitter (@adam13goodwin) and on this blog.

