Some of my favorite pictures from Africa thus far

Some of my favorite pictures from Africa thus far

by Adam Goodwin | 2013 | Last Updated: December 21, 2013

Africa 2013

In November 2013, I was travelling for a few days on the continent of Africa.  In December 2013, I was lucky enough to return to the continent for a few weeks.  Below, are some of my favorite pictures, thus far, from my time in December.

Pictures

Adam Goodwin, Adam, Goodwin, Africa, Cairo, Egypt, 2013, travel, lead, leader, leadership, one3ag, okanagan elite athlete, bc, canada

Adam Goodwin, Adam, Goodwin, Africa, Cairo, Egypt, 2013, travel, lead, leader, leadership, one3ag, okanagan elite athlete, bc, canada, tahrir, square, tahrir square

1536508_1015Adam Goodwin, Adam, Goodwin, Africa, Cairo, Egypt, 2013, travel, lead, leader, leadership, one3ag, okanagan elite athlete, bc, canada, leaves, leaf, cart, old, new, change, technology, horse, donkey,1929355054132_1737617464_n

Adam Goodwin, Adam, Goodwin, Africa, Cairo, Egypt, 2013, travel, lead, leader, leadership, one3ag, okanagan elite athlete, bc, canada, sun, trick, photography, trick photography, hot, life, planet, earth, world, people, person, persons, human life, life, human, humans

Why These Pictures

  • Top picture – this is a pedestrian tunnel located on the edge of a middle class neighbourhood.  On the border between slum-like conditions and a richer area of the city.  I like this photo for several reasons.  The sun is lighting up the end of the tunnel, as if to invite the viewer to come forward.  One cannot see exactly what is at the other end of the entrance of this tunnel.  It is therefore a bit exciting. Walking into the unknown.  Even though it is only about 5 metres of walking medium in a city with million metres of roads/sidewalks to use, it is like a massive adventure.  Why explore a little tunnel when there is millions of potentially more exciting, inspiring, and more fun areas of the city?  To this, I do not know.  Perhaps, the simplicity.  One small step at a time.  Explore a little tunnel first.  See how it goes.  Then on to larger ‘tunnels’ and areas of the neighbourhood.  Then the city.  Then the country.  Continents.  Hemispheres. Of course, Mother Nature.  (For a small percentage of humanity, the solar system.)
  • Second picture – this is Tahrir Square.  The global media’s coverage of the 2011 Egyptian revolution, made this, likely, the most famous square in Africa (and perhaps the planet).  Egyptians asked for a democracy in 2011.  In 2013, they returned to the square and asked for a more just, kind, and inclusive government mandate and policies.   When I was last in Cairo, Egypt in December 2012, I was directed not to enter the square due to safety concerns.  As I return in December 2013, I am told the same stories.  However, defying this advice, I found the square slowly returning to the life it previously knew – the pulse and vibrant social HQ of the charming city of Cairo.
  • Third picture – an old-fashioned horse/donkey pulled cart stacked with giant leaves.  This is a constant reminder of the daily struggle between past, present, and future that exists in many areas of Africa and the world.  Everyone knows that a motorized truck will make the world easier, but before one can purchase such truck, he/she must continue to save money and use the tools he/she has.  I think deep down, amongst the toys, gadgets, TVs, computers, phones, and technology, we all long for a simple life where we can do things for ourselves (e.g., fix a broken tire) rather than rely on others (e.g., fixing our smashed phone screen when we accidentally drop our phone).
  • Fourth picture – the sun.  What allows human life to continue to exist.  I like this photo as I did not use any Photoshop/photo editing. Merely a bit of trick photography.  I tried to put the focus solely on the sun to remind myself that there are always forces/things more powerful and important than what I want.  It reminds me of the sensitivity of human life and how not to worry about things that aren’t within my control (e.g., if the sun was to suddenly burn out, at least in my generation, there is little that could be done to replicate the sun’s energy and its role as a catalyst in today’s thriving humanity).

More Pictures

For more pictures from my recent or past travels/trips, find me on Facebook (/goodwin.adam), my website (adamkgoodwin.com) or Twitter (@adam13goodwin).

====

These are one person’s thoughts and opinions.  I welcome and strive to get your feedback and own thoughts. Feel free to comment below or connect with me via social media.

Adam Goodwin is a Canadian working in the United Kingdom, and is a proud shameless idealist. His parents currently work in Cairo, Egypt. He has siblings and distant family in Canada and around the rainbow nation’s only home. Follow his year+ overseas on Twitter (@adam13goodwin) and on this blog.

Comments are closed.

