My Hut and Zebra

My Hut and Zebra

by Adam Goodwin | 2013 | Posted: November 16, 2013 | Last Updated: November 16, 2013

What To Do

After coming back from my few days on the continent of Africa, I have gone in a deep state of introspection and self-reflection.

There is a part of me that wants to move to a very rural and isolated area of the world (perhaps Kenya), and just live in a nice little hut with a zebra as a pet.  I would name my zebra, Ken (get it?).

I would spend the days pondering, thinking, and writing.  Having tea and conversations with world travelers and friends.  Care for injured and hurt wild animals.

There is another part of me that wants to do a Master’s starting the fall fo 2014.  To return to school and continue academic education and schooling.

Spend my day interacting with classmates and peers about the course content and subject matter.  Researching seeds of knowledge to try and propel the world of knowledge known by humanity.

Another part of me wants to walk around the world.  Meet people.  Talk with people.  Learn about their history, heritage, culture, food, values, ideas, and beliefs.  By the end, I would have a beautiful rainbow of knowledge, outlooks, attitudes, and perspectives.  A more complete picture of the world and of humanity.

As I was told recently, I think this is part of being a young adult – unclear future, confusion over life’s direction.  Not that we must make up our mind now.  Today.  But that we have all these infinitely numerous possibilities to select from.  Also, that we can combine different desires and wants into a job/career/opportunity that is even more rewarding and wonderful than selecting just one and doing one in a silo. Solo, by itself.  This is not how the world works.  There is no me.  There is only, we.

A Call to Action

Have any words of advice?  Please share!  Would greatly appreciate this.

====

These are one person’s thoughts and opinions.  I welcome and strive to get your feedback and own thoughts. Feel free to comment below or connect with me via social media.

Adam Goodwin is a Canadian working in the United Kingdom, and is a proud shameless idealist. His parents currently work in Cairo, Egypt. He has siblings and distant family in Canada and around the rainbow nation’s only home. Follow his year+ overseas on Twitter (@adam13goodwin) and on this blog.

7 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Walk to Kenya! Then do a master’s on the knowledge you have gained.

  2. I love the Kenya idea, but would there be room for me to visit and who is ‘ken’ ? But besides YOU will know what is the right choice when the time comes 🙂

  3. Just follow your heart Adam, as you always have ❤ 🙂 🙂

  4. I would definitely like a zebra for a pet!

  5. Very, very interesting…. no hippo?

Comments are closed.

