The Introvert I Know

The Introvert I Know

by Adam Goodwin | 2013

200 Blog Milestone

Earlier today, I release a blog posting titled, 200 Blog Milestone (click here, to read). In it, I celebrate having recently published my 200th blog post on my blog (you can click here to read this 200th blog posting).

In the 200 Blog Milestone blog posting, I provide some reflection on why I blog.  The short answer, I have no answer.  I have some ideas and thoughts, perhaps, but really these are just in their infancy – like many of the ideas presented in my 200 previous blog posts.

The Introvet I Know

In this blog posting, The Introvert I Know, I try to present some ‘truths’ about introverts and try to puncture a hole in some of the common incorrect ideas and myths many have about introverts.  I try to present some of these ideas through the lens of personal experiences of me, an introvert.  As with any opinion/arguement/thoughts, my life of experiences up until this point will greatly influence my words.  As such, do not expect objectivity.

What I Am Not

I will start with some things introverts are not – break down reader’s understanding of introverts, then in the next section, try to help build a definition of introverts.

I am shy, and at times, very shy. Introverts are not shy, per se. Shyness is a fear of social situations and other people. Many introverts actually greatly enjoy social situations. They prefer quality situations over quantity of social situations.

I like my time alone. Chilling with myself and a book, iPad, music, or just plain-old thoughts and ideas in my head. Introverts are not loners, per se. They need time alone to re-energise and re-charge their energy stores.

I can appear to be judgemental and stuck-up. Yes, probably. Many, especially extroverts (and I am stereotyping), mistake quietness and not speaking as judging. This is not true. Not to say introverts can’t judge. They are processing and thinking about what you just said, rather than making judgements. This is why there may be awkward and long pauses.

What I Am

I need alone time to re-charge my energy stores.

If I say no to chilling or hanging out, it does not mean I don’t like you. Usually it means I just need time alone. Ask again. If I feel like my energy stores are full, I will likely say yes. If I feel drained, I will likely politely decline.

I do have many thoughts and ideas about many topics. If I feel like I have something to add, I will. If I feel like it has already been said, I don’t need to or won’t also say it for the sake of talking. I enjoy breaks in the conversation. Gives time to collect thoughts and ideas. If I’m not talking, it usually means I am sitting there listening and thinking.

We are very sensitive creatures. We just internalise everything. We can keep it on the inside.

We can be fun and funny. If we are with a small group of people and feel comfortable, we will likely “turn on” a truer representation of our personalities.

Your Call To Action

Do you know an introvert?  Likely, everyone does.  Many just think their friend is shy or anti-social.  Change your perspective of this person, and watch your relationship foster and flourish.

Have ideas or thoughts about introverts and/or extroverts?  How can we live in harmony and realize that differences are a necessity in life instead of an annoyance or weird?

====

These are one person’s thoughts and opinions.  I welcome and strive to get your feedback and own thoughts. Feel free to comment below or connect with me via social media.

Adam Goodwin is a Canadian working in the United Kingdom, and is a proud shameless idealist. His parents currently work in Cairo, Egypt. He has siblings and distant family in Canada and around the rainbow nation’s only home. Follow his year+ overseas on Twitter (@adam13goodwin) and on this blog.

20131102-003702.jpg

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Do you “suffer” from being an introvert?

One Pingback

  1. A

Comments are closed.

