Another Call for First Aid

I have recently written a few blog posts about first aid. Some of these are listed here: First Aid and Computers; Why Google Glass; IBM. In this post, I make another call for first aid training for every human..
.
UK First Aid

In a few weeks I am have to be certified in the United Kingdom for first aid. This is on top of the four certificates I have from Canada.

I am very excited about this. Another opportunity to learn how to effectively and calmly deal with emergencies.

Emergency

As part of my orientation and work for my new job (see blog post about my job, here: My Year+ Working Overseas), I had a tour of the city and area. This was to visit some of the areas and sites many of the students will visit during the upcoming year.

As we were coming out of a tea shop, we heard someone cry out behind us on the road. An older lady had slipped off the sidewalk directly in front of a large cargo van. Luckily traffic was moving very slowly and the van was able to swerve across the road and ended up coming to a stop on the opposite sidewalk.

After a few seconds of shock, one of my new colleagues said we need to go help. Once we walked the few metres to the group that had now gathered, it was clear no one knew first aid in the group surrounding the lady.

We were able to step in, quickly provide an assessment of the scene and the victim. Once it was determined everything was physically okay with her, we were able to move her off the road as a large line up of vehicles had gathered as traffic came to a stand still.

First Aid

This is why everyone should have at least a basic level of training in first aid. I never, in a million years, expected to have to provide first aid during my first week in another country, after having some afternoon tea. Simply, never!

Emergencies and accidents are not planned. First aid helps train individuals in the basics so that they can be prepared for any situation, anywhere in the world.

Join the world wide campaign to get every human with a minimum level of understanding in first aid. You may just be able to help an individual see their grand children that evening.

I have recently written a few blog posts about first aid. Some of these are listed here: First Aid and Computers; Why Google Glass; IBM

====

.
I welcome and strive to get your feedback and own thoughts. Feel free to comment below or connect with me via social media.
.
Adam Goodwin is a Canadian working in the United Kingdom. His parents currently work in Cairo, Egypt. He has siblings and distant family in Canada. Follow his year+ overseas on Twitter (@adam13goodwin)!

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Thank you for stepping in and helping this lady Adam πŸ™‚ You are a good soul and I agree 100% that everyone needs to have at least one simple basic first aid coarse. πŸ™‚

  2. Thank you very much for providing your helping hand.

Comments are closed.

