Made in China

I recently wrote a blog post about some things Canadians are and are not. One thing I found out about Canada is the nation’s diversity. Much of this is due to immigration. You can read the blog post, Canada, by clicking here.

In the Canada blog post I originally put a note that I’d be writing about my thoughts on immigration and diversity in Canada. First, like most of blog posts, some background.

A Car Brake

Recently, one of my parents’ vehicles needed its brakes replaced. My father, being a car czar, picked up the replacement pieces. He and I went about re-doing the brakes in the driveway.

When I say, he and I, I mean he. I stood and sat there and learned and watched (a purpose in life: to never stop learning) how to change front axel brakes on a front wheel drive.

I had to wait a few minutes at one point while he looked for a tool. While I was waiting, I was reading the info about the brakes and installation instructions. Then I saw 3 words.

Made in China

Most Canadian consumers see it often. “Made in China” on a box or tag. Most of our manufactured goods are imported from Asian countries (China, India, Indonesia).

This same day I change the brakes, I also did some research on Canada (see the Canada blog post link above). The diversity statistic (have to read the very short Canada blog post) and the Made in China connected while I was sitting on the ground in my parent’s driveway.

I wondered. What must it be like. What must it be like for a Chinese worker (I’m using a Chinese manufacturing worker in this example) to make brake parts for 8-12 hours a day and yet know he/she will never be able to drive his/her child(ren) to daycare in a car. They can’t afford it. They only make $2 per day.

Family to Foregin

I have always wondered why so many immigrants flock to Canada.  I have been to some third world, developing countries.

Canadians have the opportunity to purchase any car they want (most can’t necessarily afford it as they also have payments on homes they can’t truly afford or want, payments on their big screen TV and new washer and fridge, monthly payments on their lines of credit where they rack up large monthly bills on new clothes/travel/buying stuff they don’t need – all in the name of happiness).  Third world citizens know and understand the extreme importance of family and social circles (these lay people may not understand the complex, scientific reasoning behind social networks and support and health (read a previous blog post here) – do Canadians know this – but know how important family and friends are in their lives).  Sisters, brothers, children living in third world citizens have many things people in Canada will never have (an understanding of their land, of the animals that live around us (funny how humans always forget that they are also animals).  Yet, families still flee from their native lands to Canada (and other developed countries).  Why do they leave strong social and family ties for a foreign country?

Freedom

From reading and speaking with migrants, many move to Canada for freedom.  Even if they can’t purchase the car that they previously made brakes for back in China, they at least are allowed to purchase this car.  They have the freedom to purchase brakes to fix their car with their son (/daughter).

(This assumes that being tied to our TVs, cellphones, iPads, and computers is freedom.)

=====

I welcome and strive to get your feedback and own thoughts. Feel free to comment below or connect with me via social media.

Through this blog (Adam Goodwin’s Blog 13), I am trying to help connect individuals and organizations with content, ideas, and services that can enable themselves to change the world. Join me today to continue to better the world and this generation.

