Tips for a Road Trip

Planning a road trip? Here are some tips I learned from my June-July 2013 trip.

USA Road Trip 2013

From late-June to mid-July 2013 I went on a road trip that took me from British Columbia, Canada to 4 USA states (Washington, Oregon, California, Idaho). Over the course of USA Road Trip 2013, I learned some tips about road trips. Some are below. Hopefully they are helpful.

Gas

This is likely your largest relative cost during a road trip. Gas Buddy Dot Com provides up-to-date pump prices for most gas stations in a city. Saving even a few cents per litre/gallon can add up quickly when traveling a few thousand kilometres/miles. (Perhaps enough to buy a guilty free chocolate bar.)

Hotels

During my trip I mostly slept in the car or my tent. I recommend getting a hotel at least once, depending on the length. It allows for a physical and mental renewal period.

Likely most don’t care about hotel quality (mainly, just price), so check out Hotwire. This is one of the cheapest sites I have found for hotel prices.

Food

Bring a cooler and stop at a grocery store each day. Purchasing ice lets you buy this such as fruit and vegetables. This is a huge savings and the food is likely healthier. This is essential as a road trip can be mentally tough so eat well and healthily to ensure lots of energy to enjoy the people, culture, sights, and fun.

Flexibility

Bring your flexibility with you. Go with a plan, but must be flexible. Just going from A to B is okay, and also allow yourself to stop somewhere that isn’t in the plan. These can be just as, if not more, fun.

Your Call to Action

Do you travel? Have any more tips? Comment below to share!

=====

I welcome and strive to get your feedback and own thoughts. Feel free to comment below or connect with me via social media.

Through this blog (Adam Goodwin’s Blog 13), I am trying to help connect individuals and organizations with content, ideas, and services that can enable themselves to change the world. Join me today to continue to better the world and this generation.

4 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Keep save my dear !!

  2. Can’t wait to see pictures from the Grand Canyon………<3

  3. We will be in Egypt soon, planting seeds of KINDNESS, PEACE and LOVE. There is a reason we were choosen to go now !!

One Pingback

  1. Tips for a Road Trip | Home Far Away From Home

Comments are closed.

