Thank you to all my mentors

I would like to thank all the mentors from my past. Whether they ever do or do not read this.

Often, I read articles that say you must thank those people who support you and help you get to where you are. I always wonder, were those people too busy to walk their talk? I’m not sure. For their sake, I hope not.

So I thought I would combine the 2. Some advice. And more importantly, the action – thanking my mentors.

Gratitude

Research shows that people who are gracious, are happier. As I have said in the past about health being a resource and not the end goal of life, so is happiness.  Happiness helps you sleep, have better friendships and a strong social safety net.  It makes life fun and easier to look forward to.

Thank you

I would like to take this space to thank the following individuals:

  • My parents
  • My siblings
  • My family
  • Colleagues
  • Volunteer managers
  • Friends
  • My basketball, lacrosse, rugby, soccer, track and field, volleyball coaches, assistant coaches, managers, and volunteer drivers.

If I have forgotten anyone, please do not be offtended.  It is purely accidental.  Please let me know by commenting below or connecting with us on social media!

Informal Mentors

The above list are ‘formal’ mentors.  I use ‘formal’ as mentorship isn’t something that isn’t one and day and is the next.  It is the development of a relationship over time, that starts at the bottom and works its way up the relationship pyramid. However, above the relationship I think mentorship is about learning – the mentee learning from the mentor and the mentor also learning from the mentee and about the mentor’s own thoughts, ideas, and beliefs.  It is a powerful relationship.

This is what mentorship is based around.  Change.  Change comes from learning.  So, I would also like to thank those that have changed me by allowing me to learn from them.

  • People without a warm, dry place to call home each and every night
  • Media professionals
  • Professional development facilitators

Your call to action

Here is your call to action!

Let us know why you are thankful for your past, previous (and future) mentors, and/or let us know who are some of your mentors.  Comment below or connect with us on social media!  Then, connect with at least mentor from your past or present and thank them for their relationship and mentorship.

====

We welcome your and want your feedback. Feel free to comment or connect with the content via our social media channels.
.
Adam Goodwin is changing the world by growing the local #TakeTheActivePledge to a global movement. He is currently Marketing Coordinator for Okanagan Elite Athlete. Along with his start-up one3ag, he is changing the lives of individual children, teen, youth, adults, and older adults with the #TakeTheActivePledge movement. Join him today to help save a generation.

One Comment

Add yours →

  1. THANK YOU AG13 for allowing me, your momma to learn from you !! When I ask questions you patiently listen and answer accordingly, never showing signs of frustration ! You are wise beyond your years……….and I look forward to so many, many more years with you as my ‘teacher’ !! oxxo

Comments are closed.

