My Biggest Project Ever

I am currently working on one of my biggest projects ever.

I am President and Co-Founder of one3ag. Daily, we strive to make the world just a tiny bit better for our business partners, our team members (employees and volunteers), our families, and society as a whole.

Based on my belief that everyone is and can #beadifferencemaker, I am embarking on one of my biggest projects to-date.  After being a member of the UBC campus community for six years as a student and staff member (I continue to be so as an alum and a member of the Wesbrook Society), I saw on a daily basis some of the smartest individuals in the world at one of the best organizations in the world, freely and openly communicate and give others their knowledge. Faculty members would do a 6:30am interview on CBC and educate citizens about a new scientific finding about how to be more healthy, then go to campus to inspire the next generation of thinkers and leaders in an 8:00am lecture then spend the next 8 hours doing more research and writing articles to communicate their findings to others.  They passionately and freely share their knowledge, expertise, and inspire others by doing so.

This has inspired me to embark on sharing some of the more specialized knowledge hiding in my brain.  I will reflect deeply, and think long and hard to reach into the depths of my brain to develop free and open resources for others to use.  Other professionals in related industries needing a fresh approach to stay employed so they can feed their family, young students in over their heads trying to play a large-scale event for the first time, a volunteer who wants to continue to learn and develop new skills by helping plan an event for their organization, and anyone else who may need some help.

I’m starting by developing three resources (kind of four).  One on event planning and management.  Sorry, events don’t just magically happen – they usually involve a few months/years of meetings, planning, discussions, visions, and hard work to ensure an exceptional experience for attendees.  I will also be developing a resource on marketing.  This will be somewhat two marketing resources – one on the more traditional product marketing and the other on event marketing.  These do share many similarities in core marketing approaches so they will share some information and ideas.  The last resource in the first wave of the resource development will be a discussion about sponsorship programs (no, not donations, I mean true sponsorship!).

The development of these resources isn’t meant to be a one man job.  I will do the foundational work and grit, with my hope that others will join in by providing feedback and ways to improve/alter the resources, give fresh new ideas/steps missed, and provide inspiration by sharing ways in which they have used the resources to have a successful event or successful launch the marketing of a product, or save a non-profit they volunteer for by implementing a new way of doing sponsorship well and professionally.

There are many websites and resources with piece-wise information about event planning or sponsorship.  I want to create well-written and easy to follow resources and guides for mass usage and consumption.  No fee.  No collection of personal information I can then use to sell.  Freely available, and widely available for everyone and anyone.  (Well, I wouldn`t say no to a batch of cookies…)

You can view the development of these three resources over the next few months on my website.  To view the resources, please click here.

We are in a new economy where knowledge is freely and widely available.  This is one way I am hoping to help at least one person be a little bit more successful in their initiatives.  If I can accomplish this, I will have the perfect day.

====

We welcome your and want your feedback. Feel free to comment or connect with the content via our social media channels.
.
Adam Goodwin is changing the world by growing the local #TakeTheActivePledge to a global movement. He is currently Marketing Coordinator for Okanagan Elite Athlete. Along with his start-up one3ag, he is changing the lives of individual children, teen, youth, adults, and older adults with the #TakeTheActivePledge movement. Join him today to help save a generation.

Comments are closed.

