Vote

In the first version, I mistakenly wrote voting was May 24. This was a typo.
.
Vote!

On May 14, 2013, I urge you to vote! Here’s a little bit why.

December 2012

In December 2012 I was lucky enough to get time to travel overseas (summary blog post). I had no idea Egypt was so beautiful (visit summary). Seeing pictures and images of the pyramids as a young boy, did not prepare me when I came around a large hill to see the pyramids in person for the first time.

When I booked my travel, I had no idea I would be in the middle of Egypt’s largest ever vote (Kelowna Daily Courier article).

Egyptians

The series of events I witnessed is available, here.

On the day of the voting, Egyptians lined up for hours at polling stations. Before this date in the country’s history, many individuals, brothers and sons, died. Blood was shed to allow a son’s mother to vote. A brother’s sister to mark a little x in a box on a piece of paper.

A simple act

The last time I checked, all eligible Canadians were given time off during the day to vote (someone comment if I’m wrong). Billions of our brothers and sisters from this simple planet will never know what it feels like to have a say in who leads their land. Millions more will walk for hours/days to vote and stand in lines for 5-6 hours to vote.

Voting is one of the free world’s sacred acts.

On May 14, 2013, and every few years after that, vote!

More information is on the Elections BC website.

====

We welcome your and want your feedback. Feel free to comment or connect with the content via our social media channels.

Adam is President and Co-Founder of the social enterprise, one3ag. He is currently helping develop Okanagan Elite Athlete. You can connect with Adam by: Twitter; Email (goodwin.adam@hotmail.com); Facebook; LinkedIn; Web; In-person. You can connect with one3ag by: Twitter; Email (onethreeag@gmail.com); Blog; and Facebook. You can connect with Okanagan Elite Athlete by: Twitter; Email (okanaganathlete@gmail.com); and Facebook.

One Comment

Add yours →

  1. Should read May 14, 2013

Comments are closed.

