Some of our enemies

This is a supplement to Family and Friends.
.
Litter
.
Litter lining the ground as a young child walks along a busy, major road as cars wiz by to school as the sun rises above the mountains.

Yes, littering is bad. Whats worse, this child will grow up understanding it is okay not to take care of other people’s belongings (public roads belong to every Canadian, regardless of what politicians think).

This is until a retired set of grandparents wake up early to go for their early morning walk. The same one they have done every morning for the past 8 years. Each morning, the child sees these individual beings who have lived through multiple generations doing something small, and insignificant to help the planet and our people.

Why do principals and teachers fight for iPads in the classroom? A computer will never show a young child respect.

Computers

There’s an old saying. “Tell me, I forget. Show me, I remember. Involve me, I understand.”

The only things we are involving children in these days are computers. They understand technology really well.

What about play?

Team sports

What makes people tick? One thing is a sense of belonging.

I read the other day that people who bowl has increased hugely. Great! Yet, participation on bowling teams is almost non-existent.

Is participation in team sports over? Kids are losing skills needed to work well together. Or, their coach sits out the “star” and the parents take them off the team. This is teaching them really good lessons.

Rhetoric

Many smart people are beginning to get very good at using rhetoric to progress their cause (e.g., larger operational budgets, etc). We forgot something grassroots leadership programs for kids (Cubs, Beavers, sports, etc) taught us.

Like goals, we need to be SMART. Good that you can be politically savvy – my experience is these people make non-political issues political (look at universities trying to rid of the word “race” on campuses – legislation isn’t nearly as effective as education).

Don’t speak in clouds all day. Even birds must have their feet on the ground. In normal speak, speak as if a grade 6 student could easily comprehend what you’re saying.

In the darkness, there is always a light

These are some of our enemies of today. There are also many things that light up the dark. The positives

This is a supplement to Family and Friends.

====

We welcome your and want your feedback. Feel free to comment or connect with the content via our social media channels.

Adam is President and Co-Founder of the social enterprise, one3ag. He is currently helping develop Okanagan Elite Athlete. You can connect with Adam by: Twitter; Email (goodwin.adam@hotmail.com); Facebook; LinkedIn; Web; In-person. You can connect with one3ag by: Twitter; Email (onethreeag@gmail.com); Blog; and Facebook. You can connect with Okanagan Elite Athlete by: Twitter; Email (okanaganathlete@gmail.com); and Facebook.

6 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Hey there! This is kind of off topic but I
    need some guidance from an established blog. Is it hard to set up
    your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty quick. I’m thinking about
    creating my own but I’m not sure where to start. Do you have any points or suggestions? Thank you

  2. Hey, I think your blog might be having browser compatibility issues.

    When I look at your blog site in Safari, it looks fine
    but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping.
    I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Other then
    that, fantastic blog!

  3. This website was… how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally
    I’ve found something which helped me. Thank you!

  4. In the year 2910, when someone visits this site (which will then be part of the national archive), will they wonder what bread bag ties are?

Comments are closed.

